So a few days ago there was mass panic in the dull wetlands of Scotland when water stopped pouring down on us from above and the fluffy grey clouds disappeared. In their place, a blue sky with some white clouds and a massive fireball the likes of which has never been seen before!

bright-sun

Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration but honestly, it hasn’t been this hot in my country for a very long time! As a result, you get two kinds of people when a heatwave like this turns up in bonny Scotland.

First you have the true proud Scots; people who find the sun unnatural and avoid it at any cost. How can such a thing be allowed in our fair land? We’re a hardy people who battle fierce winds and constant rain. In most countries it’s considered a good thing to catch chicken pox at a young age since it means you’ll never catch it again. In Scotland you get called a pansy if you’ve not survived pneumonia a few times.

The other kind of person that shows up is the excitable idiot. You can get used to not seeing much of the sun but when it appears in it’s full glory these people go crazy stupid. The clothes come off, the beers come out but there’s no sunscreen in sight. This week, I was one of those people and I’m suffering for it now.

That’s not to say I wasn’t partially justified! I was helping a friend moving flat and our van driver was running several hours late. We decided to move the couch outside early so we could make the most of the free time we had.

13237634_1071520259553367_1716207192355754022_n
To sum things up, we were on that couch for three hours and sunburn has me feeling sick as a dog so I’m putting my more serious posts on hold until I begin to feel a little more focused. I’m eager to get an article on Story Timelines out there but I don’t want to post it until I’m certain that I’ve written it to the best of my ability.

In the meantime I still have plenty of things I can write about but it won’t be anything particularly serious until I’ve recovered a little. If you could see the varying shades of red on my face you wouldn’t take anything I say seriously anyway.

Leave a Reply

