In the last four weeks since I began blogging, I’ve felt more inclined to write than ever before. I only post every two days on here but the spewing of words doesn’t stop there. Behind the scenes, I’ve still managed to keep my own projects running, albeit not always to a regular schedule.

With that in mind, I’ve finally managed to start looking towards the future and what I actually want to do as a writer. Even better, I’ve started planning how to do it.

From the very beginning, I’ve always wanted to be the writer of a comic, manga or graphic novel. I always had a particular project in mind and made quite some progress on it about three years ago until my computer broke down and everything got wiped. I lost all motivation to rewrite everything I had done but I never stopped thinking about it.

Over the last month or so, I’ve been attempting to resurrect it in what appears to be a manga style. It’s a fantasy story with no questionably named Japanese characters or references to “Japan according to a westerner,” I’m not that kind of manga fan. I just love the style and don’t believe success in the manga industry is impossible for anyone. I believe that if you have a story you love then you should get it written and get it out there in whatever way pleases you most. So that’s what I’m going to do.

While there’s still plenty of kinks to sort out for my final draft, I’ve started communicating with some illustrators in order to seek out prices and discuss the style of the final product. It’ll take a fair amount of time and money to complete but with a little luck, you may be seeing some news in the near future. Perhaps even a shameless plug of my work if things go to plan.

Thanks to the 20 followers keeping tabs on me, I’ll get back to my usual word spew now so keep tuned and wish me luck!

P.S. If you’re an illustrator yourself then feel free to get in touch for some potential work.

3 thoughts on “Beginning My Hunt For A Comic Artist

    1. I actually have two projects with first chapters that are almost complete. Whichever one I feel most satisfied with is the one I’ll be looking to have illustrated first.

      One is a typical action/shounen about monster hunters using alchemy to boost their abilities and the other is a drama about a society of immortals being hunted by humans who want their power.

      For the latter, I’m not entirely set on a manga style but I’ve been writing/scripting with that style in mind. Feel free to send me some of your work via email (contact information is available on the blog). It doesn’t need to be strictly manga as I also want to get my story “Dream Lab” illustrated eventually and that will definitely not be in a manga style. You can find the first 4 chapters through my Archive, feel free to check it out and see for yourself if you think it’s something you’d be interested in working on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Those all sound like my kind of story, actually! I’d love to read them, too, once they’re illustrated. 🙂

        I’m working on some new comic art for my gallery right now, I’ll send you an email in a few days with samples. Right now I have some of my older art on my blog.

        Like

Leave a Reply

