Feel free to correct me in the comments if I’m wrong… but I think it’s safe to say that we all have those phases in our lives where we just don’t feel like being productive at all.

It can be for long periods or short periods and it can happen for any number of reasons. Maybe you’re occupied with other hobbies or events. Maybe you’re having some personal upheaval in your life that puts your creative work further down on the priority list…Or maybe you just can’t be bothered at this moment in time.

It’s totally natural to have days or even weeks like that but there’s a certain point where it starts to feel like you’ve been unproductive for WAY too long and that can be worrying. Worse yet, that worry in itself can make it even more difficult to get back into the swing of things since you begin to force yourself to work out of a sense of urgency rather than genuine passion for your craft.

Everybody suffers from moments like this and that’s perfectly normal but there really is no definitive answer on how to break the cycle. Must we force ourselves to perform our craft despite a temporary lack of enthusiasm for it or must we wait for the thrill of our work to return before we can continue the craft?

While I’ve previously written about “The Creative Mind: Battling The Block,” the article was written as an untested theory based on previous experience and the opinions of like-minded individuals. However, after acquiring an artist for my primary illustrated project, I have been finding extreme difficulty in preparing the next installment of a story I have been working on for quite some time and this recent writer’s block is feeling particularly burdensome. Therefore, I’ve decided to take direct action in order to bring back the excitement for writing that led me on the path I’m walking today.

Over the next month, I’m going to experiment with several methods that can potentially reignite the enthusiasm and creativity of those who are struggling on their personal path as a creator. I will be making changes to my personal life in order to test what affects the mindset of a creator, both positively and negatively.

 

I will then be documenting my findings for you all in the hope that some of it will be relevant to your own personal dilemmas as creators. I will update as frequently as possible to report my findings… whether it yields helpful advice, disappointed ramblings about zero results or just hilarious experiences, I will make sure that you know it all.

The general aim of these experiments is to partake in activities that are:

  • Low budget.
  • Accessible to anyone.
  • Easy to organize.
  • As far from my own personal comfort zone as I can manage.

Rather than posting my to-do list, I’m just going to pledge to begin these experiments beginning Monday 1st August and present my findings as I go, as quickly and coherently as possible. Generally, I’ll be testing new experiences, both alone and in a social group which will preferably not be a group I am familiar with.

 

So for my final words I’d like to give a quick thank you to the 40 followers I currently have reading my ramblings and for anyone new tuning in, I hope you stick around long enough to read my findings! While the first experiment will begin Monday, it may take a few extra days to put up a post stating whether or not I’ve become more or less productive after my experiences. Hopefully it’ll be the latter!

Wish me luck and I hope you enjoy the results!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Igniting Creation: The Productivity Experiment (An Introduction)

  1. Good luck on your experiment! I hope you’ll get more positive results than negative… either way, it’ll be a learning experience! Don’t forget to have fun along the way… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

