To me, job titles don’t matter. Everyone is in sales. It’s the only way we stay in business. – Harvey Mackay

There are few aspiring writers who write only for themselves. It doesn’t matter if you have the confidence to share your work or not, when we write a captivating story it’s always in the hopes that it may reach the standard of those writers who inspire us. Whether you want to turn writing into a career or you just want someone to dive into the worlds you create and never come out, our stories are undoubtedly made to be shared…and in many cases, sold.

We “creative types” have a tendency to convince ourselves that what we do stands apart from other businesses due to the diversity of our final products. The artist, the musician, the writer, they all have the freedom to express themselves in an infinite number of ways that will always result in the creation of something new. We’re surely world’s apart from those who have to follow the rules in the non-creative business community, right?

Wrong. The truth is that if you’ve ever considered sharing your work and hoped for others to enjoy it, you’re selling a product whether you charge for it or not. The pivotal point in any sale is the pitch. Without a pitch, there’s no hook. If you don’t have a hook, then how do you expect to catch any fish? You can’t expect a product to be successful if you can’t draw an audience to it and the initial pitch is key to that; In the case of writing, that pitch is most often our prologue.

Unsurprisingly, there’s a wide range of opinions within the writing community on how a prologue should be structured in order to provide the best experience possible to readers. We’re all looking for that ultimate method of storytelling that can drag a newcomer into the worlds we build in a way that makes them never want to leave but everyone has a different idea on the means to achieve it.

Do our readers enter these worlds with all the answers laid out before them or let curiosity drive them forward through a fog of mystery? Are they plunged headfirst into action or tortured with tension? What do we offer our audience and what do we withhold from them? What do you want your prologue to achieve?

In future posts, I intend to look at several common methods in prologues that are used by both aspiring and professional writers. I’ll give my own outspoken opinions regarding their pros and cons but as always, I invite open discussion on the matter. What prologue styles do you commonly use and which methods have you struggled to master? Do you even think a prologue is necessary or would you prefer to jump straight into the story itself?

The next post on this subject will be discussing just one prologue style that is most commonly found in fantasy and sci-fi fiction – The Timeline Synopsis. This is mainly due to how commonly it’s used by aspiring writers but also because I have a ton to say about this one in particular!

Let me know how you like to start your stories and why! After all, there’s no better way to learn than to discuss.

3 thoughts on “A Prologue On The Importance Of Prologues.

  1. I feel the stronger the prologue is, higher are the chances of audience getting attracted to it. Though the success of your book will entirely depend on the story or the content of the book, but to check if the book was good or not, one must at least hold it at the first place. And to make a person hold one’s book, one must have an enticing prologue.

    Like

  2. Hey there Old Sport! I’m K&L from The Millionaire’s Digest, I just want to apologize for not being able to publish all the articles fast enough on The Millionaire’s Digest. I also want to apologize for not launching the magazine for the first time. I understood that I made a big error and realized that the magazine had no theme to it, but now I’ve revised it and already have people sending in their articles to me, which brings me to my next point Old Sport.

    I would just like to ask you before I get ready to have our magazine published if you would still like to be in it. I mean, I don’t want you to feel like I’m forcing you to do this because I know I wouldn’t like it if someone made me do something I didn’t want to do either. But I mean, I just wanted to make sure because you are one of my team members, and I just didn’t want you to feel left out when you see it go live in all the stores!

    Also, please know that if you do choose to do this, you do this for yourself, not me. I do perfectly fine for an individual, as you know that I could’ve launched this myself and not let anyone on it. But I’m not that type of person (Nor will I ever will be). This is just something that I want to be able let you guys do, so I can help you get more exposure to your blog!

    Sincerely,
    K&L

    Like

  3. Nice read! I like to start a post with a personal story or a quote that relates to the post. This is because I get inspired to write from daily activities.
    A prologue should be able to captivate the reader

    Like

Leave a Reply

